The Mississippi Access to Justice Commission Team


The Mississippi Access to Justice Commission is comprised of a diverse group of providers of civil legal assistance, business and community leaders, representatives of the three branches of state government, bar leaders, clergy, deans of the two Mississippi law schools, and members of the legal community.

ATJC Voting Members ATJC Ex-Officio Members


The Mississippi Access to Justice Commission has assembled a group of Commissioners and ex-officio members throughout the state to speak to groups within their communities as a public service. These judges, attorneys and community members are our Speakers Bureau. The Speakers Bureau exists to promote among Mississippi citizens an understanding of the growing need for civil legal services and how the Commission is working to reduce barriers to the justice system by addressing rules, procedures and policies that affect access to justice for poor Mississippians. 

 MSATJC Executive Director

Nicole McLaughlin is the Executive Director of the Mississippi Access to Justice Commission and the Director of The Mississippi Bar's Access to Justice Initiative. She is admitted to practice before all Mississippi State and Federal Courts, as well as the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. She is a member of the Lee County Bar Association. She was a Board Member for the Mississippi Bar Young Lawyers Division North East District from 2009 to 2011. She was also the Past President, Vice President and Treasurer of the Lee County Young Lawyers. She is a member of the Mississippi Women Lawyer's Association and currently the Liasion to Students at the University of Mississippi School of Law.

After receiving a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy from Mississippi State University, Ms. McLaughlin received a Juris Doctorate from the University of Mississippi School of Law. She is a former adjunct professor of Paralegal Studies at Itawamba Community College.

Ms. McLaughlin is very active as an Advisory Member of the Lee County Hunger Assistance Program which provides food pantries to schools. She is a current active member and first Vice-President of Junior Auxiliary of Tupelo. She is also a former Mississippi Access to Justice Commissioner.  She also serves on the Mississippi Suprem Courts' Commission on Children's Justice and the Parent Representation Task Force.